Wednesday

Unlimited Text, Talk & Data For $45 Per Month Using Verizon Network

Straight Talk Wireless offers Unlimited Text, Talk, & Data for only $45 per month. 


*** No Contracts ***
*** No Catches ***
*** Runs On The Verizon Network ***

Sunday

Welcome To Straight Talk Reviews

StraightTalkReviews.com site is dedicated to giving you the latest Straight Talk Reviews from our readers like you!  These customer reviews are collected and posted live on this review blog for your information.

Please leave a comment on this site and we will post it as a Review Right here.  Just go to the end of this post and leave your comment now! 

Scroll Down To Read The Latest Reviews

Monday

Straight Talk Wireless Reviews | User Reviews | Customer Reviews

LATEST STRAIGHT TALK REVIEWS POSTED HERE: 

Anonymous
Apr 14, 2012 04:49 PM 
Their whole setup is idiotic. When your phone runs out of minutes if you have the 1000 minute plan for $30, your call is automatically dropped with no warning. It just hangs up. Then, I get an error which says "prepaid calling disabled", even after I pay for a new plan. This means I can't call customer service. So I use Google to call their customer service, and the woman tells me that if this happens, I need to find ANOTHER phone, to call customer service, to reactivate my phone. What a stupid setup, who runs this company? Do they not realize that sometimes you are not around a phone (other then your own non-working phone) or the internet? I also sent an email, and have received not one, not two, but three automatically generated emails telling me not to respond to their email. Still nothing from the email end, ever. I have this problem all the time with this phone. I bought the $80 tracphone, which looks and feels like it was made by a child slave for a cost of a few bucks in China. What a joke... I now have to use this phone for at least a year to get my moneys worth.  

nonymous
Apr 8, 2012 06:31 AM 
I read all the reviews and it made me smile. Yes straight talk representatives were not americans and they dont speak english with the same accent as americans. but mind you people, they can understand and speak english while you cant understand and speak their language.well i just had a little knowledge how they work. dont blame the representatives if you transfer you number from verizon and it didnt went through,they just enter the informations that you gave them but it's still your responsibility to make sure that the pin and account number were correct. they'll put you on hold because its not easy updating your account!  

Anonymous
Mar 24, 2012 02:10 PM 
I get good reception almost anywhere and dont think $45 a month is a bad deal,but god forbid if you have a problem with your phone and have to deal with the useless customer service,your lucky if you can even make out a word they're saying.It will take up to 40 min to refill your minutes over the phone and trust me,you do not want to give these filthy crooks access to your credit card for auto refill.But on the other hand all these phone companies are filthy dishonest pigs,with horrible broken english speaking customer service.Your going to take it in the rear one way or another,might as well use the company that uses the most lube.  

Anonymous
Mar 23, 2012 01:06 PM 
Ok everyone, I am pissed at Straightalk phone company! Ever since I got a referbished phone that works on Straightalk I have had problems adding minutes each month. I've had to go to Wal Mart to have a rep there call them to get the minutes added. So I did this again yesterday, he got it working, then stupid me bought another straigtalk phone so I would hav one that worked if i had problems with the other one...what a joke. I went on there web site to set up my new phone and transfer just my old phone # to the new phone...after an hour + talking to the CSR, nothing was accomplished, they said they cant transfer my old number to my new phone because I already activated it and now my old phone wont work. She said my old phone was broken??? So heres the deal I can't use my old phone and lost the $30.00 for the minutes that I bought for it and I have a new phone that works but I cant get my old number on it plus I lost the minutes from the $30.00 card that I bought for the new phone. She told me that because I actived the new phone they couldnt transfer the old number to it, I told her it didnt say that on their web site, she said i should have known!! Dont ever by a Straightalk phone! So now I am going to have to find another company that works in my area...PISSED, PISSED and PISSED!  

J Vargas
Mar 20, 2012 08:29 AM 
I switched from H2o to Straight Talk when H2o cut off my internet at just 1.4GB of usage when they were still at 2GB, they changed in the middle of my billing cycle. Straight Talk autorefills on my AMEX card at just $45/month for everything unlimited that AT&T can offer. Best Deal Ever for my iPhone 4S and I'm not going anywhere...!  

Nicole S.
Mar 15, 2012 09:36 AM 
DO NOT USE STRAIGHT TALK!!! IF YOU DON'T NEED A LOT OUT OF YOUR PHONE AND YOU DON'T HAVE A LOT OF MONEY TO WORK WITH, IT WOULD BE A WASTE OF YOUR TIME AND THE MONEY YOU DO HAVE TO EVEN TRY TO DEAL WITH THESE PEOPLE! I wish someone had given me some kind of warning before signing up with Straight Talk but still I'd like to prevent as many people as I can from having to deal with this same problem. Straight Talks' service is abominable. They put me through the ringer with their service and I will never, so long as I live, forget the huge headache they gave me. I paid full price for a smartphone, had it three months, and then it was 'disabled indefinitely' from a remote location. I was told I had been warned twice about 'excessive internet usage' which was untrue. There was never a first warning because I INITIALLY called them about a problem with my phone and apparently ME calling THEM resulted in a first warning. Secondly, how is it possible to use the internet on my phone excessively when you have an unlimited data plan? I barely used the internet on my phone at all and it was still giving me problems. When I called to see if I could have the phone serviced or replaced they told me once a phone was deactivated permanently, it could no longer be reactivated and that I would HAVE to buy a NEW phone. W.T.F. I took the phone to several different phone places and they all told me the same. Once Straight Talk deactivates your phone, it can't be flashed or reused in anyway. So I basically had a $300 dollar useless piece of crap because they deactivated my phone for no apparent reason and told me basically 'hey look, there's nothing we can do, you have to buy a new phone' even though the phone was obviously defective. Service = Poor. Product = Poor. Quality = Poor. Straight Talk is an overall failure as a phone company and it should be a crime for them to rob people this way. 

Dennis Taylor
Mar 8, 2012 08:04 AM A
WESOME. I have had my Straight Talk Samsung T528G for five months and everything about the service has been great. Yes the customer service agents are not native english speakers, but they do a great job and always have been able to give the help I needed. Besides what companies still have their call centers in the U.S? My phone recently had a problem and the rep trouble shot it over the phone with me and determined I needed a new phone, UNDER WARRANTY, recieved it in two days. Each time I have activated a phone it has gone operational within 45 minutes. I have had excellent coverage everywhere I have gone(Verizon network). In the five months I have used Straight Talk I have seen no difference between them and ATT or Verizon. I highly recommend Straight Talk. 

Anonymous
Mar 6, 2012 06:50 AM 
Their customer service SUCKS!!! I bought a refurbished smartphone and the unlimited monthly service. I havent had any trouble with the phone or the coverage. But their customer service is absolutely HORRIBLE!!!  

Sherry
Feb 27, 2012 08:05 AM 
Unlimited is NOT unlimited, BEFORE I go any further DO NOT do automatic withdrawal either! First, look under terms and conditions # 6 read carefully. I brought the UNLIMITED PLAN and set up Automatic Withdrawal. After being with this company for a year I can honestly say I am disappointed with the customer service and the trickery of their service plans, again read their terms and conditions carefully. Straight Talk withdrew money out of my account February 13, 2012 and later that evening turned my son’s phone completely off, I mean…if I wanted to I could never put minutes on that phone again, they permanently deactivated my son's phone. After a 1 1/2 on the phone they still would not give my money back. However, Straight Talks did say this “we are not giving you your money back, but you can buy a new phone and a new service plan card.” WTF! The information that I did not mention is they stated he overused his “web time,” which is also unlimited. 

Anonymous
Feb 22, 2012 02:05 PM 
This is the absolute worst, most pathetic company I have dealt with in over a decade. Customer service is clueless, never help resolve your issue, repetitive beyond belief; this includes management. I had to have a defective LG phone replaced. They received on the 8th of Feb, I did not get til 23rd of Feb. EVERY time I called, EVERY day since the 11th, they told me the same thing every day. "It will take 3-5 business days", "we have escalated your issue." Escalation has escalation into infinity and beyond with these people. Before I sent it off, Neither my son nor I could make calls from within our house. Plain PATHETIC. I hope they go out of business. Don't waste your time or money.Gonna try T-Mobil pre pay. 


Anonymous 
Feb 11, 2012 10:17 AM 
Worst Customer Service Ever! Called after having an issue trying to transer my phone number. After having to repeat my issue several times to the broken English horrible accent "Peggy", he finally just ignored my issue completely and kept asking me if I was a lady. When I asked what my gender had to do with him fixing my phone he kept on the subject stating most people named Christian were boys or men. When I submitted a formal complaint on the guy and the phone, the next "Peggy" that called me never even told me sorry for the phone issues or the awful experience, only wanted to remind me over and over how (in my words) I'd wasted my $30 on the card since it's in their T&C's that cards can't be refunded. Since they can be transfered I will give my mins over to one of my other unfortunate friends who has service with them, but I am taking the phone back to wal mart to get my money back on it. After all these issues she thought I was still going to keep the phone. Whatever. I'd rather pay $30 more per month with my reg cell company and at least get great customer service from an American.  

Anonymous
Feb 10, 2012 09:08 PM 
WARNING!!!!!!!!!!! DO NOT GET STRAIGHT TALK this company is a joke phone works fair. But try to talk to customer service they do not have a glue what there doing try to upgrade on a phone got it in went to transfer my account to new phone they could not activate it told them to just keep everything on my old phone and i will send new phone back for refund 3 hrs later my old phone gets turned off says sim card unregistered call back on the phone for another 2 hrs told my sim card no good need a new one will send you a new sim card be there in 7 days all the time they still cant explain what they messed up and while talking to them on phone they act like there working on your problem and sounds like in background there laughing and joking around in a language you cant understand WHAT HAPPENED TO AMERICANS TAKING CARE OF AMERICANS Think before you buy  

Guy Sacchetti
Jan 23, 2012 07:33 PM 
I have been using the service for well over a year now (Samsung r355c/Verizon unlimited). They ported my number in 15 min. I am a truck driver and travel all over the U.S. I have service almost everywhere and spend literally hours a day on the phone with family and business calls. I admit I do very little web/text activity but as far as the phone part of the service I am extremely happy. I use auto fill and always get a text when the charge is about to go through. And a message when it is completed. I agree that when you call customer service it can be frustrating but I luckily have not needed to call in that often. My suggestion is when you do call speak clearly and slowly and try to explain your issue as simply as possible. I just wish the new android phones have such limited service areas or I might get one and start using more of the service that is availabile.  

Anonymous
Jan 21, 2012 09:05 AM 
Screw walmart and straightalk. I have been going back and forth from home to walmart and every employee at walmart says the same thing to me. I hav insurance on phone and it broke so I did everything I need to and I still can't get my replacement and walmart talks to me like I'm dumb. They say they don't know I'm talking about they never done this before they say!? Wtf? Walmart sells things that they don't know about. If you buy a straight talk phone buy the cheap one and forget about insurance. Better yet don't give walmart your money! They are idiots.

Mike
Jan 21, 2012 07:24 AM 
In an attempt to save money on purchasing a phone, a friend gave me his phone after buying a new StraightTalk phone. I spent almost 1 month with Customer Service attempting to switch to my name. Like most of these posting, I would NOT RECOMMEND using this service under any conditions. It is not worth the trouble.

Anonymous said... 
This company is the biggest piece of crap company to ever exist!They will take your money and leave you with headaches. Stay far away from this company! Their customer service is horrible, they will shut off your phone randomly, double charge you, etc. I don't get mad very easily but this company will make your blood boil. It is flat out criminal how this joke of a company operates. Anyone associated with this company should be embarrased! 
January 9, 2012 10:26 AM

FED UP said... 
I'm so disgusted with the customer service at Straight Talk. I never get a correct answer on any question I've ever asked. I think the language barrier is the biggest problem. English speaking people would like to have someone to speak ENGLISH. This company would be great if it had a descent customer service! I ordered a Straight Talk phone through Walmart.com. I already had service with Straight Talk. I had questions about my new phone arriving on the same day my old phone would be billed for the next month. I called twice on 1-5-2012 and spoke to 2 separate people and asked them how I should handle the transfer; should I cancel my phone a day early so I wouldn't be charged, or can they transfer the phone along with the amount I am paying to my new phone the next day. Both people told me to keep what I have and they would transfer it. I explained that my current phone was on the $30 plan and the new phone I ordered required a $45 plan and BOTH said that was NOT a problem. Today I received my new phone by FedEx and called to transfer my number and the amount I was billed today to my new phone. AND GUESS WHAT, now they can't do it. If I activate my new phone I will LOSE the $30 I paid today for my old phone and will be charged an additional $45 for my new phone. Even the supervisor told my there was nothing I can do. This is just one of a stream of problems I've had with Straight Talk customer service. I'm really surprised Walmart carries a product that has so many complaints against it. Just look at the reviews for Straight Talk. Everyone complains about the lousy customer service, with the empty promises and bad information. I'm disgusted with the way the Straight Talk so called "customer service" conducts itself! It's NOT fair that people have to pay for the mistakes for the customer service at this company. 
January 6, 2012 1:36 PM

Anonymous said... 
Dealing with straight talk is a nightmare. The customer service is horrible. I will never do business with them again and would recommend to my friends not to either. I purchased a phone that would not activate at my home. I returned it 4 months ago and still have not received the refund owed to me. I have spent hours on the phone dealing with "Peggy". Someone needs to start a class action lawsuit against this company. 
January 6, 2012 12:54 PM


Anonymous said... 
Trapped myself with the straight talk cell-phone service and I'm here to tell you.......Your better off to walk barefoot through a fiery pit of Lava than deal with the pain and complete language communication breakdown your going to experience with Straight talks customers service !!!!!!!!!.......Feel Rich yet? January 4, 2012 11:41 PM  

Julie Breeding said...
Let me start by saying I spent 3 days trying to help get a neighbors tracfone setup that I bought her for christmas so I was already annoyed with the outsourced reps since their difficult to understand. I just spent 3 1/2hours on the phone with them trying to get a straight talk phone set up that I bought my sister. After try this and try that for 3 hours she decides that she needs to send a new sim card since the one I have is TMobile and AT&T has better service in my area. TMobile????WTF??? I have straight talk. Well she said 3-7 days for a new sim card. Are you kidding me? Another 3-7 days when it only took 3 days to get the phone. So I decided I wanted to talk to a supervisor, she said just a minute and transferred me to a line that said my wait time was 10minutes. this was definitely not a supervisor line it was another customer service line well by now my cordless was flashing low battery so I decided to hang up and call back later to return the whole bundle-- phone and air card. Once again I called back an hour later and told them I wanted to return the crap and was transferred to a "return agent". Well she decided she wanted to try one more thing and of course that turned into another 26minutes of try this, try that. Finally this thing will be going back Tomorrow at my expense of course.
December 31, 2011 8:35 PM 

Rick in Indianapolis said...
I can not wait to have decent service again! I lost my job and have had to go with straight talk because I can't afford anything else right now. The service is HORRIBLE! I used to have an Iphone through AT&T. I ALWAYS had a good signal at work and at home. Now I rarely ever have more than one or two bars and LITERALLY more often than not I have no signal at all. I have an android phone and I hate that too. It's like a toy phone. Go with someone.....ANYONE....else! 
December 27, 2011 7:17 AM

Anonymous said...
DO NOT GET THIS SERVICE!!!! Straight Talk is a terrible cell phone provider. The customer service is absolutely terrible!!! We ordered our phones and received them the next day (sounds good right?) WRONG!! We wanted to transfer our old numbers from Verizon. Well, this is no easy task. They repeatedly called me insisting that my PIN for verizon was incorrect, when it was, in fact, the right one, they were just entering wrong for 2 whole days!!! Then I was put on hold for 30 minutes by an Indian woman who kept telling me "allow me 2-4 more minutes while I work on your account." For 30 minutes she kept saying the same thing until I hung up. Long story short, we didn't have phones at all for 3 days because Straight Talk SUCKS!!!!! We ended up going back with Verizon who thankfully didn't charge us a termination fee. When trying to return our Straight TAlk phones, they told me that they could not refund me for my return shipping!!! This is the worst service out there!!! DONT DO IT!!!!!
December 12, 2011 3:58 PM

Daniel said...
I have had straight talk for almost two years now. They arent the best phone company ever, your pretty much getting what you paid for. I do the whole 45 bucks prepaid thing and it works for me. I have no issues with that. However, their signal is not the best. Even though i have a non-android phone, the signal can be non existant at times. Honestly i dont call people alot, hell i barely even text, but when i do get calls they sometimes get dropped. Overall in service, they are decent. What they severely lack in is customer support. A good deal of it is outsourced too so if you dont understand the accent, you are outta luck. They also dont seem to be the friendliest. The worst situation that happened to me was when i was given a new straight talk phone and i had to set it up to where i still have my old number from my other straighttalk phone. It was a hassle and the customer support doesnt help. I think it took a whole day for them to program my phone. Anyways, if you prepay your straighttalk phone for 45 dollars like i do, you should be okay. Especially if you are not using your phone alot like i do. i'd rate them as a 7/10.
December 7, 2011 6:03 PM

Angela said...
I have had a Straight Talk phone for over a year. I had no trouble until I went to get a new phone. I bought a phone at my local Wal-Mart that did not work in my area (I should have known this was the start of something). I had to file a support ticket in October 2011 which went unanswered. After two weeks I filed another support (now early November). Since then I have continually spammed their Facebook wall asking for updates and basically annoying them until they had to help me. (I tried calling and the women refused to help me until I activated the phone that wouldn't work. I asked for management, she refused to transfer me and insisted I put another $45 into a phone that wouldn't work before she would help me get a phone that would work. I hung up on her.) They sent me a replacement phone but it was the same phone that will not work in my area. I told them this and they offered to comp me for time lost. I shipped this second wrong phone back and made more of a fuss. They offered me a month of free service on top of comping me my time lost. I was continuously told my new phone would be shipped as soon as my old phone was received. They received my phone middle of last week, and can't tell me they will have my new phone shipped out by this week. I have dealt with everyone from lower support to upper management, with little success. The first time I sent my phone back, the new one was in the mail within two days. I asked for a refund so I could purchase a different phone because I need one for the long trip to visit my parents for christmas break on icy roads. A refund could not be processed for 30 days. Therefore because Straight Talk ignored me for weeks, then only bothered with my complaint after my continued efforts to reach them, they can not provide me with a new phone for over a month and a half after I first got in touch. At this rate it will be 2012 by the time they bother to fix this. I have never dealt with such poor customer service anywhere in my life. I would strongly recommend looking elsewhere for your phone service. I know I am.
December 5, 2011 6:12 PM

Anonymous said...
DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY USING STRAIGHT TALK! THE PHONES ARE JUNK AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND TECHNICAL SUPPORT ARE WORSE! SPREAD THE WORD TO PROTECT OTHERS FROM NOT BECOMING ANOTHER STRAIGHT TALK VICTIM!
December 5, 2011 7:54 AM


Anonymous said...
Please help put the crooks out of business! The phones are awful and the technical service people are awful! They steal your money every month and the phones never work right! Someone needs to shut them down!!!!
December 5, 2011 7:57 AM

sparko said...
I have had straight talk for about 2 yrs. now on auto refill. Everything was fine until about 6 months ago when my phone went dead. I called and was told my CC was no good and I should call the CC company. After about 40 minutes I gave them another CC and everything was fine. I was on vacation at that time and DID not need the headache. About 3 months ago the same thing happened again with the new CC but after an hr. on the phone and talking to three different clones they got it working. Well 2 days ago it happened again and after talking to 3 people an hr. and 20 minutes later was told this CC was also bad. Gave them an American Express # and was told this CC was also no good. Finally after them jabbering in the background together one of them finally told me they must have a problem, gave me a reference # and I was told to call back the following day. After getting bounced between 4 people and 65 min. later one of them using my second CC got me fired up again. I also have somewhat of a hard time understanding their uniform formatted 1-8 instructing card and jabbering. They never get rude even when I came unglued several times. Its not their problem Straight Talk has crap software and is screwing me and the call center people. STRAIGHT-TALK SUCKS!
( I still use all my 3 CC's daily)
December 4, 2011 10:28 AM

Anonymous said...
Straight Talk can't decide what my monthly fee should be. After a year of paying $30.63 they raised the fee to $31.71 for one month, returned to the lower figure and now in December have gone up again. Impossible to communicate with representatives who keep defending the error. No, my taxeshaven't increased; it's an error and it will take me a month to correct it.
December 2, 2011 9:38 AM

Anonymous said...
THE BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT EVER
I have read other posts mostly negative, giving lengthy accounts of the horrendous phones, below par call quality and awful customer service that they have gotten.
It is all true.
I would never use them again no matter what the cost.
November 30, 2011 5:03 PM

Zack said...
i have straight talk, not a smart phone but i just have the regular slide one. and it worked finnee. i did get the unlimited card and when i activated it, they gave me a date when it would expire. until the expiration date i did get the unlimited text call and web. it lasted about a year and a half till it started falling apart. i can upload pictures to facebook, not from the web but from the via mobile text thing. it can't take videos but some what decent pictures. i do get good signal in places. soooo straight talk all day
November 26, 2011 10:00 AM

Rosie said...
Their service is horrible, their customer support is even worse. I was told that in our area we had "the best coverage" over and over again. What a joke that is. They kept us on the phone for at least 2 hours telling us to hold on, and then saying the same thing over and over again. No help what so ever.
For most of November now, all I can make out is a word or two out of any sentence over my phone. And I am not the only one. Two other family members here have the same problem, and also neighbors and friends in the area. "The Best Coverage," yeah right...I'm here in "the area" and these people are talking to me from a foreign country. They refused to compensate me for the loss of service. They wanted me to send back my phone...they would send a box for me to send it back in and then wait till they were good and ready to send one back!! Making me go without a phone for all that time.
I told them we had serious health matters to deal with at home but that did not make any difference. They didn't care. The representative sounded sarcastic, really, reporting to me over and over again that they could not give me any compensation. It clearly sounded like this person was enjoying disappointing me. I've had bad customer service before, but this was over the top. Since they sounded foreign, it was my impression they got a kick out of "burning the Americans." Sounds strange maybe, but that is my honest opinion from my experience.
Don't go with Straight Talk.
Their service, their support, their rules are all very very bad in my opinion. The Samsung phone I had was the only good thing about the whole experience...was just hooked up with the wrong, very wrong service.
November 23, 2011 9:04 PM

Pikachu said...
I've used straight talk for a little over a year. The internet is hardly useful, even for simple things such as facebook or e-mail. The fact that you must spend 30 bucks a month on minutes that don't roll over is a rip, unless you use close to all of them. Other prepaid plans require you to spend half as much, and have minutes that roll over. The only pro to this company is the fact that it has good coverage.
I had canceled my service after over year because of a technical issue. I rarely use more than 200 minutes a month(and you have to buy at least a 1000 minutes a month just to keep the phone activated, minutes which expire in 3 days, forcing you to buy new ones). Somehow all my minutes disappeared, and I had 4 more days left until I needed to refill. When I called tech support, they were very condescending, explaining how minutes work(E.G. both incoming AND outgoing calls count against my minute total, as if I was an idiot). They also refused to send me a statement of my own minutes, something that most other prepaid networks give easy access to. I had then demanded that they cancel my account.
In short:
-Straight Talk has a good selection of phones(I bought their Samsung since few other prepaids featured full keyboards). They also have good coverage, especially if you live in a rural area.
-The Customer service is practically nonexistent, and managing your account is a hassle. Also, you have to pay 30 bucks a month just to keep the phone activated, even if you use a fraction of those minutes(which don't roll over).
November 12, 2011 9:15 PM

Anonymous said...
I don't know what to say here. Some people just like to complain. Although I have had Straight Talk for a short time, I have nothing bad to say other than my phone needed to be replaced which was not a big deal for me. I also need a new Sim card for my other phone which they sent to me fro free. Their customer service is always able to help me so no complaints with them. If you're not happy go pay the "big boys" the big bucks. And you'll find out that their service is a lot worse for twice the $$.
November 7, 2011 7:05 AM

Anonymous said...
Took my new samsung droid back to walmart because of bad reception and freezing up. All i wanted to do was get a refund and flop my minutes over to my other ST phone and they wouldnt do it! They wanted to send me another phone that would take up to 30 days and thats not going to fix the problem , now is it!If i did that it would burn up all my minutes!! So because of a defective phone it cost me 45 bucks, so either way i lose 45 bucks ! I had the piece of crap for 3 days!! Walmart should be ashamed of thier poor service and having a relationship with these morons!!This aint over by no meams! I going back to walmart and create a scene every day till the give me back my money!!So walmart is it worth 45 bucks to you? i hope so! freedom of speech, aint it a bitch!!
October 25, 2011 5:37 PM

Anonymous said...
Lose service in my living room, lose service in my kitchen, in my bathroom, and in my bedroom. The only good thing is that it's cheap.
October 17, 2011 9:56 AM

Misty said...
!!!!I WAS OUTRIGHT LIED TO BY STRAIGHT TALK!!!!


THEY TOLD ME THEY WERE GOING TO REPLACE MY BATTERY THAT DIDN'T EVEN LAST A YEAR!! WALMART DOES NOT SELL THE BATTERIES AND THEY TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW PHONE. I ORDERED ONE OFF OF EBAY FOR MY PHONE AND IT ALLOWED THE PHONE TO TURN ON BUT I NEVER HAD A NETWORK SIGNAL I WASTED A WHOLE MONTH AND 1/2 OF MINUTES!! SO I CALLED STRAIGHT TALK & THEY SAID I COULD ONLY USE THEIR BATTERIES. AND THAT THEY WOULD SEND ME A SHIPPING LABEL TO RETURN THE FAULTY BATTERY BUT THAT THE SHIPPING LABEL WOULD ONLY BE GOOD FOR 10 DAYS. AND I WOULD HAVE TO SEND A COPY OF THE RECEIPT AND ASSURED ME THAT WALMART WOULD GIVE ME A DUPLICATE COPY.


I FOUGHT WITH WALMART FOR ALMOST A MONTH THEN I FINALLY GOT IT AND CALLED STRAIGHT TALK BACK TO SEND A NEW SHIPPING LABEL AND THEY SAID THEY WOULD NOT REPLACE THE BATTERY AND THAT THERE WAS NO NOTE ON MY ACCOUNT THAT THE PREVIOUS PHONE CALL HAD EVEN TAKEN PLACE AND THEN ASKED ME IF I HAD A REFERENCE NUMBER FROM THE PREVIOUS CALL!!!!! THEY ARE LIARS AND CHEATS ITS A HUGE SCAM!!!!!!!!! DO NOT BUY STRAIGHT TALK!!!!!!!THEY JUST TRIED TO SELL ME A NEW PHONE OVER & OVER!! THEY ALSO TOLD ME THEY WOULD "COMP" MY ACCOUNT BY LETTING ME KEEP MY OLD PHONE NUMBER!!!BUT I KNOW THAT SERVICE IS ALREADY FREE!!!! THEY TOLD ME I HAD TO CALL SAMSUNG AND GET A NEW BATTERY AND WHEN I DID THEY SAID THEIR CONTRACT WITH STRAIGHT TALK WON'T ALLOW THEM TO INTERACT WITH THEIR CUSTOMERS!!!!! SAMSUNG DOES NOT OFFER A BATTERY FOR MY PHONE!!!NEITHER DOES STRAIGHTTALK!!!!THEIR PHONES ARE DISPOSABLE DO NOT BUY!!!!!!!!!!!!!
October 10, 2011 2:02 PM

Anonymous said...
I've had straight talk for 6 months and just recently decided to switch to another carrier!
PROS: The cost is VERY cheap!! I only paid $30.00 a month!
CONS: -You get what you pay for!!
-People would call me, leave a voice mail, and I wouldn't get them half the time...
-ALSO it always sounds like you are going through a tunnel when you try to talk to someone
-Its ALWAYS breaking up!! HORRIBLE CONNECTION!!!
-And don't get me started on costumer service...i NEVER got an English speaking person, always someone who spoke little or VERY broken English...if you are living in the United States...LEARN ENGLISH WELL...so the rest of us can understand you!!!
Other then that, its been ok...I'm just tired of not hearing people! So you don't mind broken connections, missed voice mails, and non english speaking costumer service people, then this phone is for you! Otherwise STAY AWAY!!! YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!!!

-
October 8, 2011 5:09 PM

Anonymous said...
I just switched over from Verizon a week ago, just got tired of paying out $80 when I hardly ever talk on the phone. I bought a used Samsung Finesse on eBay. Smart Talk customer service helped me get my account open with the used phone, and within an hour everything was up and working. I live and work in remote areas and have excellent coverage. I had to call Customer Service a few times with some basic questions. They were extremely polite. Yes, most of them had accents but I could understand them fine. All of my questions got answered. Wait time for customer service was less than 3 minutes, except today they had high volume, so I just waited til later in the evening and then got right through. Emails have been answered promptly. I hope this continues, because the savings are off the hook. I don't know if this makes a difference, but I don't use the phone for much but a few calls and some web browsing and some texting. Everything works great. I love having a $30 phone bill instead of $80. I hope my luck holds with this company, but so far, I'm really happy with everything.
October 2, 2011 10:34 PM


Anonymous said...
Do not use Straight Talk... I have had nearly all of the issues that everyone here has posted, and then some. I wouldn't even know where to begin. Recently I was having phone issues and I was prompted to call back later. All representatives were busy..... Hmmmm, no option to hold for the next representative, no option to leave a message to be called back by the next available representative? So I guess I'll just be pushing redial all day long until I get my lucky break and am able to get through. Ridiculous, for a company so large to not be able to field it's customers concerns more effectively. What a shame, as the concept of a more affordable plan without the obligation of other larger carrier definitely has potential. And remember, that was just my last issue. Consumer beware.
October 1, 2011 9:38 AM


Anonymous said...
Customer service is incapable of solving minor problems. Their English skill are insufficient to actually have a simple conversation with. These morons took it upon themselves to change my phone number and can not get me mine back. I actually have another guys number and have talked to him and his family and friends, but straight talk is to incompetent to correct this. This is now the second phone number they have lost for me. Do not make the Straight Talk mistake.
September 30, 2011 6:03 AM


SandyH said...
Don't buy a phone from this company. The ripped me off for $157 and refuse to give me my money back. I have spent hours on the phone with "customer service" since I received a nonworking phone. They just say the dialog and when there tiny little brains figure out that they cannot help you, they put you on hold and you just start over again. Shame on me for not calling customer service before I made the purchase to make sure they were in the United States. Really disappointed in Walmart for supporting an overseas company. Sam Walton is rolling over in his grave.
September 27, 2011 11:55 AM

Anonymous said...
phone is fine, but you cant upload your own pix etc. have to buy everything from their site and when you do go to their website to buy music or wallpaper, it has no problem charging your card, but never gets to your phone. and you have 10 times in 72 hours to resend it to your phone. I did all 3 days and still nothing. I sent an email to ST about the issue and still have yet to hear back. I dont care that it was a petty thing that was bought but they gained and its BS on how many other people they are gaining from and we dont receive anything back like your legally supposed to. If nothing happends on their end, im reporting to the BBB, cause its rediculous. When you pay for something, its only right to get what you paid for.
September 12, 2011 11:29 PM

Anonymous said...
all of the negative reviews on here are very true. Straight talk is a waste of time and money. Their service is worse than bad. They are crooks and should be put out of business immediately. Nothing on their website works correctly. They lost my number when i tried to port it over.There are always error messages and when you try to redeem a walmart card for 45 dollars it says it goes through then when you try to make a call, it says minutes not added and call cant be made. This has happened on more than one occasion to me. Customer service will tell you it went through and to give it an hour but it never comes through. These mexicans in customer service are told to lie just so you will get off the phone. Walmart and crackphone (tracfone) should be ashamed to be associated with this mexican run joke of a company.
September 11, 2011 1:09 AM

Anonymous said...
Pleas dont ..any one who is thinking of getting straight talk phone please don't i beg of you it will save you heart ache and lot of trouble ..for month and a half they have not been able to fix my issue ..the worst king ...night mare ....dont ever there is nothing good in it... not even one point..
September 10, 2011 3:31 PM

Anonymous said...
!!!!!!!DON'T EVEN THINK ABOUT IT!!!!!!!!
Every bad review on this site is absolutely true. The good reviews are probably plants from the company.
I can not believe WalMart affiliates themselves with a hack company like Straight Talk.
Tracfone and Straight Talk should be reported to the FTC, BBB and any other agency that could put them out of business.
*******************BEWARE******************
September 9, 2011 2:44 PM

Anonymous said...
Straight Talk is an utter joke of a wireless company. I'm going to file a complaint with the BBB and Florida Attorney General. They should not be in business. Tracfone also. First of all, not one feature on their website works correctly. I've tried twice now to order a phone and then add minutes. Forget about it, I have had error messages come up both times. Then, I tried to add minutes to another account I had, it said the minutes went through, but they never showed up on the account. So, now I'm out $90.00. This was from a Wal-Mart card. I checked the balance on the phone, it wasn't added. I called customer service and couldn't understand a word anybody said, and the problem never got resolved. So, they stole $90 from me and no one knew what happened with the pin number I had put in. Nimrods. My cousin tried to port his number over from Sprint, they ended up losing his number he had for 5 years! None of the Mexicans knew what happened to it. On top of this, their coverage map for the AT&T network is wrong, they don't cover half of that area. They cover only what AT&T's prepaid area covers. Plus, the calls are never clear and the voice cuts out. The web on these phones won't even stay connected. What a joke. I will NEVER do business with this company again. I advise everyone out there to go with someone else.
September 7, 2011 10:26 PM

Anonymous said...
*DO NOT GET STRAIGHT TALK*
I bought a $199.00 phone from ST which required a $45 unlimited calling plan. That wasn't a problem except that there UNLIMITED is not really unlimited. I talk, text, & browse a lot and apparently there is really a limit on the unlimited plan. You just have to read the TINY PRINTS that we all usually don't read. When you go pass their limits they will call you and give you one warning and then they cut your phone off (at least that is what they did to me). If you are trying to get a hold of customer service you better make sure that you have at LEAST an hour to spare because they take forever. Also get use to the famous words of "PLEASE HOLD FOR 3 MINUTES". Just a note, when they disconnect your phone they will not let you use that phone ever again. Most cell companies disconnects the person and not the phone. Well with ST after they disconnect you the phone is trashed. Maybe you might have better luck with ST, but as for me, I will not be a returning...I am sorry for this kind of review ST.
August 25, 2011 5:42 AM

frank said...
aug 21st- who knows how long....Today is the 24th phone still does not have all my minutes. shorted 990. These folks are a joke.
August 24, 2011 10:21 AM

Rana_Wen said...
Straight Talk is, without exception, the WORST customer service EVER in the entire history of the universe. If you only understand English, don't even bother contacting customer service. If you MUST try Straight Talk, buy the cheapest phone, or get the free one, because it WILL break after a few months, and it's less brain damage to just get a new one than to deal with CS. Sure, they're cheap, but there are so many better prepaid choices that are only a few bucks more, with INFINETLY better customer service. With Straight Talk, I've had customer service thru India, Columbia and Belize and all of them were completely unintelligible & unhelpful. Even getting through to them has taken me over 45 minutes at times. Do yourself a favor, DON'T BUY STRAIGHT TALK!! I sent my (BROKEN) phone in (they won't replace it until you send it, so you have NO phone for 2 -3 weeks) and what happens to your minutes you paid for? who knows, I'm still waiting for new replacement phone to arrive (fat chance!) Phone broke after 2 months.
August 21, 2011 9:22 AM

Anonymous said...
Purchased straight talk phone,, worked fine for almost 2 months,, then went to refill my minutes, I purchase the $45 unlimted card,, when I went to refill it it told me the system had a error try back later. finally after a few hours of that I went through the long process of dealing with their automated system finally got a hold of a rep who said that they would put the minutes on my phone. About 4 hours later still no minutes on my phone.,
I called back and they transfered me from manager to manager until I got someone who could fix it they said with in 4 hours I should have my minutes. After 4 hours no minutes but by now their office was closed I found out after once again having to go clear through the automated *** again to try to get a real person.
Tried back right away the next morning once again went through manager to manager and they said problem fixed! Minutes should be on the phone with in the hour,, had to call them back 2 hours later was told that the minutes were on the phone give it 4 hours to work,, 4 hours later called them back and they told me there must be a glitch and in order to fix the glitch I needed a land line phone,, I explained to them this was the only phone I had and they told me to purchase another straight talk phone so that I could use it to fix this phone?? So why would I spend $80 on another phone and more minutes when the phone service they are giving me won't work???
They said the phone can only be fixed if I call back on either option they gave me, they will not fix the phone unless I am on the line talking to them,, so there is no way to use email to comunitace with a rep to fix the problem, , and they do not have the technology to use a chat to fix the phone.
So now I am out the cost of my phone and have a worthless $45 minute card because all minute cards are non refundable.
Will be heading to walmart later today,, straight talk rep told me to go back to walmart and see if they can fix it or if I can use one of their phones to fix it. Lets hope Walmart shows some good customer service here and helps us fix our problem.!!!
August 17, 2011 1:49 PM


Anonymous said...
Yea I feel for all of you. I am glad I read this review site before purchasing ST. I just had all the same problems and complaints with service from Cricket. I reluctantly went back to Verizon. No contract but they are still to expensive. WHY CAN'T someone give us excellent service and $45.00 plans too? What a rip off...Hummmmmm
August 17, 2011 9:30 PM

Robin Prestwood said...
I was cheated out of $10 and 3 hours of waiting multiple times on the phone. The only thing they have going is price and Verizon pre-paid network. There is NO technical or customer service. Their internet service sucks. I will gladly pay more to get the service I deserve. I gave them multiple chances to fix my problem. The answer was NO! every time. I QUIT!!!!
August 17, 2011 12:17 PM

moname said...
DO NOT GET THIS SERVICE! I switched over from Verizon. Loved their service but could not afford the plans. I got this phone and immediatley had problems with customer service, I think they are in Mylasia or some foriegn place. Way to go Walmart. Nothing like keeping jobs in the US. You can not understand these people and they act like there education is at an 5th grade level. Very frustrating. I switched back to AT & T now with an I phone. I am still fighting with Straight talk 2 months after porting phone. They are still charging my account even though I am not using the phone. HORRIBLE!!!!! I got no bars or service in my area even though their coverage map shows I should get service. I don't live in the country. Very Very Bad!!!!!
August 16, 2011 6:16 AM

Rob said...
DO NOT, I REPEAT, DO NOT GET PHONE SERVICE FROM STRAIGHT TALK!!!!!!! I ORDERED 2 PHONES ON 07/29/2011 AT 2:34 AM. PAID FOR OVERNIGHT SHIPPING. PHONES SHOULD HAVE BEEN BEEN RECEIVED BY MONDAY AT THE LATEST. CALLED ON TUESDAY, WAITED ON HOLD AND SPOKE TO CS FOR OVER AN HOUR TO FIND OUT THAT THE ORDER WAS NOT PROCESSED YET. CALLED BACK LATER TUESDAY AND CANCELLED THE ORDER. 2 DAYS AFTER THE ORDER WAS CANCELLED, THE PHONES WERE SHIPPED, AFTER PHONES WERE SHIPPED, MY ACCOUNT WAS CHARGED. I REFUSED THE PHONES, NEVER EVEN SAW THE BOX. STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MONEY BACK. WENT AND BOUGHT CRICKET PHONES, GOOD CS!!!! DUE TO STRAIGHTTALK TAKING MONEY OUT OF ACCOUNT, OI AM NOW OVERDRAWN!!!!!!!!! DO NOT GET THESE PHONES. THEIR CS IS AWEFUL. I HAVE ALSO HAD ALL THE OTHER SERVICES, THIS, BY FAR IS THE WORST CS I HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED!!!! I WOULD CHALLENGE ANYONE WHO DISPUTES THIS. CLASS ACTION LAWSUIT IS AROUND THE CORNER, AND I WILL BE JOINING IT!!!!!!!
August 11, 2011 6:17 PM

Sheila said...
This has been a nightmare !!I have had service with Straight Talk for 7 weeks and my problems started in the second week.I was able to receive and make phone calls and I could hear the person on the line perfectly. But for some reason the person calling or that I would call could BARELY hear me. To make this even more frustrating,this happened very randomly.After speaking with numerous people on the tech support helpline and reprogramming my phone repeatedly with no success,I was finally able to convince tech support that this wasn't going to work and was able to speak to a supervisor(after numerous requests and phone calls-minimum of 45 minutes each)They agreed it was a defective phone and arranged to ship me a new phone to replace the ONLY phone service I had (I'm a bakery manager and a phone is a job requirement)We're in week 6 now...yes this took me 5 weeks to accomplish. On the day the phone is due,it doesn't arrive.No one sent an order to the warehouse to ship the phone! I am now in week 7 of this nightmare and my phone (with a tracking number this time) is due in 2 days. They have deactivated the phone I have now!!!! I just spent 2 hours on the phone going through the same dog and pony show all over again !!I'm a paycheck to paycheck person so I can't afford to just go out and replace the phone and service. Actually, my children bought this for me as a birthday present.This has been my straight talk experience.....please don't let it become yours.
August 8, 2011 7:47 PM

Misty Webster said...
I have used ST for only 2 months. The first day after activating my phone I had crappy signal and I live right in the city. I called and TRIED to speak to someone who spoke and understood English but no luck with that. I called and spoke with someone as well as a supervisor to complain about my service and got compensated for 1 day of service. I did not buy a cheap phone but now 2 months later have to go buy a new phone with a different company. Boost mobile was way better then ST any day. STAY AWAY FROM ST! I would drop calls all the time, no bars on my phone or sometimes maybe 1, I would get no network or emergency calls only and people said that my phone cut out on them all the time so I had to repeat myself and still had problems. Customer service does not listen to complaints or care at all. This company sucks!
July 28, 2011 10:29 AM

STRAIGHT TALK SUX said...
I have had straight talk for several months now, at first it was okay, but i had to go out of my way to find a half decent phone. it ended up being more expensive for me in the long run because i paid full price for the phone and got really crappy service. then when my phone broke they wouldn't accept the warranty i bought from walmart, and wouldn't replace it with the warranty they placed for 1 year on the phone. i hate the customer service, i am not racist, but i do not want to talk to people in india because i dont understand half of what they are saying and they are very rude to me! when i asked to talk to management or someone else they kept being problematic and wouldn't transfer me. I didn't feel comofortable giving them my personal info and was super unimpressed when they constantly put me on hold. it's cheap, but you get what you pay for. A crappy phone, crappy customer service, and crappy service in general. the internet kicks me off all the time and is slow as hell and irritates the crap out of me. i hate straightalk and will never use their services again! im going to try t-mobile. DO NOT GET STRAIGHT TALK! ITS A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!
July 28, 2011 10:11 AM


tonyw said...
Stay as far away as possible!!! Switched to ST from AT&T 4 months ago, nothing but problems. I expect less quality service using a cheaper provider, but this was beyond acceptable. Hours spent on the phone with CS for service cards that would not update min and data, phones that just stopped working and two week turn around time for a replacement, finally, no refund on unused min/data without recipt and card which I throw away after finally getting it successfully uploaded onto the phone with the help of a 20 min phone call to CS every 30 days. In hindsight, I only payed about $10 more a month with AT&T, and no problems...ever. Buyer beware...
July 28, 2011 3:36 PM

Anonymous said...
I have had ST for over a year and I was very very pleased with it until one day I switched out my phone to a different on and now I no longer get good signal. I live about a block from a tower and still no signal. I can get great signal in KC>to SPFLD> and in our little town not much 1 to 2 bars at best. some times I will have full bars and go to make a call and dropped down to none. But when I call cs I always have full bars that is crazy. They blamed to Joplin tornado for the lack of bars. Well that is bs because it started the day before Joplin was hit. I am going to switch back to my old phone and c if it is the phone other then that I use to love ST.
July 25, 2011 12:50 PM

Anonymous said...
Currently in use of Straight Talk, I switched over from Sprint in December of 2010. Only spoke with CS once back then about my phone order, (as I had to buy a few as I break phones often and that was "suspicious") and can say that they're no better or worse it seems than any other.
**Switching my phone number took minutes.
**Switching between phones, no issues. All online capabilities, so I don't have to call someone every time I want to switch between the slider and blackberry.
**Ease of use on the website is fantastic. **Only wish I could view a bill or usage statement so I could see what my damage actually is. (if anyone knows how to do this do tell!)
**Call quality is great.
**Service (bars) are Verizon towers, so also great.
**Internet.. is basic. But I have the basic phones. (hoping to switch to a the new samsung soon!)
**Even letting my service card once run out did not lose my personal number. I don't know if I was just lucky there, as I quickly paid for it after I realized I couldn't make calls anymore!!
Overall, I'm extremely satisfied.
I wish they would give a bit of a discount to purchasing the 6 month or year service cards, but hey.. It's still cheaper and doesn't require a contract.
And to anyone that expects to get 4G networks and actually overuse a phone, straight talk probably isn't for you. It's a good service with good little phones and nothing too fancy.
July 24, 2011 11:49 PM

carmine114 said...
i had just purchased the nokia e5 i had the e71 before that i had a problom with my internet service and had called straight talk about the matter they had told me my internet was shut off bc i used tomuch data and my internet was suspended bc i was using my phone as a modem for my laptop now people why would straight talk get phones that have that option on the phone if they dont allow us to use plus we are paying for unlimited data so why should we not be able to use it as a modem if we have the option on the phones that straight talk sells and like i said when we are paying for the unlimited data i think they are miss leading us and we need to take a stand we pay well over 200.00 for a phone that we cant even use for what we want it for and paying 45.00 a month for unlimited data when we are indeed limited with the unlimited data plan
July 23, 2011 9:38 AM

Anonymous said...
I have been with ST for over a year. I have had to deal with various issues (i.e. porting number, defective phones, recieving replacement phone, recieiving sim card, extra-day credit, etc.)Each time I have had an issue/concern ST was able to work it out. Sure CS is outsourced; but you have to be patient, speak slow and listen carefully to make sure they understand.B/4 ST, I had ATT and SPrint and they too outsource their CS. ST is the best. Their phones are great, their plans are great, and CS has been able to help me each and every time. There phone selection more limited than other prepaid phone company; but they have a great selection to choose from for those who want to text, use web mobile, message. What more can you ask for at these prices. In fact, my mother, husband, and son also dumped their contract plans and switched to ST. "I'm Loving It!"
July 21, 2011 9:22 PM

Anonymous said...
You don't have to active over the phone, you can do this over the internet; I did for all family members with no problem. This is a discount service, if you use too much data, yes they will limit your use; instead use wifi; if no wifi decrease your usage. Actually data is truly unlimited; BTW read the small print!! This is a MUST for everything that you purchase. CS is bad; okay; I keep hearing this over and over again. Well guess what. . . so is AT&T, Sprint, Cricket and others. I had them all and they, too, outsource CS. I solved this in the past by hanging up and calling back until I get someone who seems to understand English well. ST (currently) does not have a Samsung Smartphone.
Lastly, ST is the most inexpensive reliable prepaid cell phone service around. I am so glad that I do not have those expensive monthly bill and two-year commitment contracts.
July 21, 2011 9:37 PM

Anonymous said...
These people must be the most blatantly retarded group of individuals in the world. Maybe not retarded because scores of people flock to them because of their cheap prices, but turn out entirely unsatisfied with their service. Scam artists to the tenth degree for sure. They had better shape the fuck up or ship the fuck out.
July 18, 2011 4:47 PM

Anonymous said...
I've had straight talk for quite some time now. and I love not having to worry about dropped calls or overcharging me. They do however have a crappy phone selection which is why i have the most expensive phone from them. but it works great. although they're customer service is absoulutely horrible! not a single person can speak english! and they never know what they're talking about. i was on the phone with one of those arabs for almost two hours bc they couldn't comprehend anything i was saying. still $45 to deal with those idiots - wayy better than getting raped for $80 a month at any contracted service...just saying!
July 5, 2011 9:58 PM

Anonymous said...
If you like to sit on the phone for hours at a time then Straightalk is for you. They are very low technically. They aren't familiar with their own phones. They hand you off from person to person until you have sat for too long and you hang up out of frustration. They have double billed me for two months. Then it took two 30min calls to fix the situation. Then I go out to my account online today and it shows my phone as being inactive. It's not! Then I call and they slap a different phone number onto my phone and they don't know how to switch it back. It's a nightmare company! I just want my phone number back so I can switch it to another company. Cheap is good, but it's not worth the hassle that goes along with it. 
July 5, 2011 8:15 PM

Elisabeth said...
HORRIBLE. I bought a Straighttalk phone in January of 2010... and just switched back to Verizon in May 2011. It took a week for Straighttalk to port my number over, and every time I called them I got a different answer and was on hold for over an hour. When I switched back to Verizon, Straighttalk delayed porting my number over until I had three Verizon officials call them and hassle them. Also canceling auto-refill is sketchy - on the website it says you can cancel it under your account info, but you actually have to call straighttalk to cancel anything.Do not go with this carrier... it's not worth the cheap cost. At least if you're concerned with keeping your phone number.
June 30, 2011 8:00 PM

Anonymous said...
The $45 dollar unlimited plan is good for college students like myself. HOWEVER the customer service is horrible. The least they could do was get representatives who spoke english that isn't horribly broken. My phone almost never rings when someone is calling me and never shows that I have any missed calls when I know I did. When sending text messages, it always fails and it delays recieving text messages until its too late. Also, when I try to access the internet, it takes a ridiculous amout of time and you can't even do something as simple as online banking. If it wasn't for the fact that I know how much my phone will cost each month I would definately go somewhere else!
June 29, 2011 7:08 PM

Richelle said...
I have had straight talk since February and the phone service is great. I have the $45/month unlimited plan and could not ask for better phone service. It picks up everywhere. I live in Tennessee and it picks up in southern Illinois and even as far as Kansas City, MO.
On the flip side, I do not like that I cannot make any changes without purchasing a new plan, (ie. changing my number). I also do not have access to detailed billing, even electronically.
These are small inconveniences I can live with.
The absolute worst thing about straight talk is their customer service. You get different solutions to your issues with every representative you talk to. Example: Activating a phone given to me by a friend who upgraded to a new phone..........When they activated it, they did it under my friend's current number (old number for that phone) and refused to do anything to fix their mistake except send out a new sim card in 3-5 days. So, now my friend is without service until her new card gets here through no fault of her own. They even refused to overnight a card to her.
April 27, 2011 5:26 PM

Anonymous said...
I just purchased a straight talk phone and I have had nothing but problems. The shut off my old cell phone service to put old phone# to new phone and now my new phone doesn't work. I am out of both phones now and I really need a cell phone for work. They said it will take 7 business days to get a new sim card,but I need it now!!! Do NOT BUT STRAIGHT TALK. They will take your money and provide you with poor cust service. Daddy always said you get what you pay for and this was no exception. I had high hopes for this company, but now im just ready for this month to be over with and go get a contract with real service. Have you ever gone to VERIZON to get phone fixed and they tell you it will be 7 business days. No they take care of their customers. Customer service means alot these days. Everyone is saying straight talk will over take VERIZON, but if they treat the rest of their customers like they have me VERIZON will get them back. VERY UPSET STRAIGHT TALK CUSTOMER!!! 
 April 28, 2011 4:40 PM

Anonymous said...
The positive posts must clearly be ferom Straight Talk / Trac Phone Employees being told what to say. Customer serice is horrible they barely speak english and falsly advertise overnight shipping is available. Well strange enough 4 days still no phone as ordered from the web site. Yes they are less expensive but the service sucks.
Must by why TracPhone has 4 differant names Trac Phone, Net10, Assurance Wirless, and Straight Talk....They can only get customers by Lies and deciet as to who they are. Cant comment on quality of service or the quality of the phone as I am still waiting to recieve it....and waiting and waiting....Please give me 3 minutes and I will resolve your issue......Yeah Right. 
April 30, 2011 10:44 AM

Herb Craft said...I would think twice about getting a cheaper plan with poorer service. My wife and I both have Straight Talk and at this time she has no cell service. I called customer service and went through the prompts. When I was to be transferred to customer service I was cut off. Now I can only get a busy signal. This has happened at least 3 other times. They have also double charged me on my auto-pay and that was a hassle to correct.
My time is too valuable for this, not to mention the frustration of being without service multiple times and poor customer service. Do yourself a favor get a plan with better customer service. Whatever you save with Straight Talk you will pay for in frustration.
May 6, 2011 10:42 AM 

Anonymous said...
DO NOT BUY STRAIGHT TALK WORST SERVICE EVER!!! CUSTOMER SERVICE LINE IS NO HELP. YOU DROP CALLS CONSTANTLY. IF YOU CAN UNDERSTAND BROKEN ENGLISH YOU MAY BE ABLE TO GET SUPPORT. I CAN NOT SAY ENOUGH ABOUT HOW POOR THE STRAIGHT TALK SERVICE IS. SAVE YOUR MONEY. SHOP ELSEWHERE. SAVE YOURSELF THE HEADACHE.
May 15, 2011 7:22 PM

ROBERT said...straight talk has very very very very bad service you think youre gonna save money but you will spend hrs tryin to understand what the hell they are saying. LEARN TO SPEAK ENGLISH STRAIGHT TALK! WORST SERVICE. 
May 15, 2011 8:23 PM

Anonymous said...****Do NOT BUY A STRAIGHT TALK PHONE**** Customer service is totally useless. I purchased a refurbished Straight-talk phone to replace a new Straight-talk phone because the audio started to fail after a year. The refurbished phone could not be activated. I called customer service, spent an hour on the line with a rep who told me to give it 24 hours and try again. The next 2 reps I spoke to the following day each had me troubleshoot the phone (another 2 hours of "hold for 3 minutes please") to no avail. I requested a replacement. I was told that they would troubleshoot the existing phone and open a ticket and that this process would take an additional 48 hours (going on 3 days). When I requested instead a refund, I was told I would have to wait 30 days for a refund.....completely useless. I completely get why companies like Straight-talk outsource to India. The reps are very polite and they maintain their composure but they are not helpful. The customer is Straight-talk not the consumer. The reps job is not to help; it is to discourage any more calls to customer service. You hang up the phone never wanting to go through an experience like that again. In my case, they achieved their objective.
May 18, 2011 9:02 PM


Anonymous said...
Don't buy Straight Talk.I did.I wish I never heard of it. I ordered one from the straight talk website. I paid for priority mail. 5 days later I got a refurbished phone that didn't work. After spending 4 hours on the phone with the support people that told me to reboot the phone no less than 30 times. Then he tells me the brand new phone is junk. I need to return it. So, 4 days to get me the return envelop, 4-7 days to get the phone back to them, then once they get their junk phone back, they will send me another refurbished one. That will take another 3-5 working days.
And by the way... The whole time this is happening, my 30 day phone card is slowly expiring.
I intend to re-post this as often as I can to maximize the exposure of this complaint, or until straight talk provides me with some satisfaction. 
May 19, 2011 3:54 PM 

Anonymous said...
Very simply put. With the verizon service, it is the best for the money. There's only ONE MAJOR PROBLEM. STRAIGHT TALK HAS THE WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE IN THE WORLD. Hopefully you'll never have a problem with the phone, minutes, billing,reactavating, ect. You get the picture. I'M STILL WAITING FOR MY NEW PHONE. ITS BEEN 11 DAYS AND STILL COUNTING.
May 23, 2011 1:22 PM


Lushes Lass said... 
Straight Talk unlimited definitely seems to be the best deal out there. Unlimited texts minutes and data all for $45 a month - what a deal! 
May 25, 2011 1:58 PM

Bailey said...
I totally agree! And then if you think that you don't use your phone enought to have an unlimited deal then you can look into STraight Talk's $30 plan which is 1000 minutes, texts and data per month. No more contact no more surprise bills..
May 25, 2011 2:03 PM

Anonymous said...
After waiting 13 days,I received my new refurbished phone. Customer Service actavatived it with a new number. Now I must wait 24 hours to see if I can have my original number back. I could have bought a new phone for 30-40 dollars and been communicating within 1 day. I'd SAY, STAY AS FAR AWAY FROM STRAIGHT TALK PHONE SERVICE UNTILL THEY IMPROVE THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE, SPEAK AND UNDERSTAND ENGLISH, AND TRAIN THEIR PERSONEL. May 27, 2011 3:23 PM
Omar_Jalone said...Bought my Straight Talk phone when my contract expired with my previous provider. Have really enjoyed using it. Bought the basic Razr but am looking to upgrade to a smartphone, since I have the $45 unlimited plan which provides unlimited data along with unlimited texts and minutes. Anyone have any recommendations as to which to get or what they offer? 
May 29, 2011 7:26 AM

Anonymous said...
ST is 1/3 the monthly price of Verizon contract. BUT=
StraightTalk Customer service humans cannot speak or understand American, and refuse to give you someone who can. NEVER give ST your credit card number, NEVER sign up for auto payments. They just started my new month a day EARLY again (according to their site!) and beat me out of another 133 minutes I needed. Use a WM scratch off card and add it through your phone at the last minute. DO NOT LET THEM HAVE YOUR CREDIT CARD NUMBER. Last month after 2 weeks of battles on the land line, I went to the ST BLOG and got the phone fixed in 5 minutes. Phone is fine, the coverage IS still Verizon CDMA.
May 30, 2011 7:18 PM

nonymous said... 
This company's customer service is a nightmare. Approximately ten hours on the phone with them and three weeks before they could figure out how to work with my land line company to port my existing number. Misinformation (I'll give them the benefit of the doubt and not call them lies), stubbornness - you name it, this company engages in it. Customer service is at the same abysmal level as that offered by their parent company, Tracfone. Buy the service, but PRAY you never need to call the customer service department - and chances that you won't are not good. 
June 18, 2011 7:17 AM

Anonymous said...
My pnone was barely audible during phone calls so reluctantly I sent it for replacement after I was told it would only take 3-5 days. That was on the 14th of May. On the 18th of May I recieved a pkg to send my phone to them. Stupid me I did'nt write down my contacts. I recieved a replacement phone the Monday after Memorial weekend only to discover that I could not active the phone they sent. It belonged to another account. Long story short it is now June 20 and I still dont have a phone. This all I have to show Straight Talk does not care!!!! I have been without a phone for 35 DAYS and wasted hours pleading with customer service. Stay away from ST. June 20, 2011 7:54 AM


Joseph Primm said... DO NOT use Straight Talk wireless' option to
"auto-fill" your wireless phone account.
These people are thieves and WILL charge
your bank account unauthorized!!! They will
then blantantly dare you to file a
complaint.My phone service was on "auto-fill" via my
debit card which paid my fee monthly on the
5th of the month for nearly a year when
suddenly the charge was changed to the first
of the month. I immediately notified Straight Talk that
this was unacceptable because I am on a
fixed income and only get paid on the third.
I spoke to three separate reps concerning
this matter unsuccessfully. Finally I
removed the "Auto-fill" option so no further
charges would be made.
My current service expiration date at that
point was still a week away but Straight
Talk immediately DISCONTINUED MY SREVICE AND
charged my bank account anyhow... even AFTER
I had cancelled the option. CLEARLY
unauthorized.
I went to my local WalMart and purchased a
service card so I could still use my phone
and tried to work out a refund of the
unauthorized charge with Straight Talk
Customer Service.
How can I put this?... Impossible.
At first they refused to even acknowledge
the charge and we argued for a month them
saying that they did not charge my account
when the charge was clearly there. The
following month they charged yet another
unauthorized charge to my account AGAIN
without me even having an agreement with
them but they had illegally saved my debit
card number even AFTER I had cancelled the
auto-fill.
After SIX WEEKS of trying to deal with them,
they finally admitted that the charges were
in fact wrong and said they would refund my
account. To this date they have not done so.
I have spent countless hours on my phone
trying to rectify this without any sort of
success. As it stands now, they have flat
out refused refund saying that I will just
have to file a complaint. I have even had my
bank contact them directly to verify the
whole mess and the bogus charges to no
avail.
These people are thieves plain out and are
extremely hard to deal with as they barely
speak English and I have no idea where they
are. Several times they referred me to a
bogus phone number to call for help which
has an area code of 103, To my knowledge
this area code is non-existent. I have many
emails from them spanning months of try to
resolve this matter which was due to their
mistake to begin with. 
June 20, 2011 8:58 AM

Sandra said...
I purchased a refurbished straight talk phone. The deal seemed like what was needed. Well I have stayed on the phone trying to get it programed for almost 2 hours. Their favorite phrase"please hold for 2 to 3 minutes". Needless to say I got real angry after awhile. So they replaced the phone and now again it will not program and i'm pissed. Now they are sending another one. Its been a month of this crap. Im not happy. June 14, 2011 2:50 AM

Anonymous said...
TERRIBLE customer service. I do NOT recommend this phone service unless you have LOTS of time to spend on getting it activated...and the biggest problem that I had was that after activation I find that they have no available 'local' numbers in my area..go figure! 
June 16, 2011 1:40 PM

Anonymous said...
Straight Talk disconnected my service for too much data usage. PLEASE READ!
I did not have a good relationship with Straight Talk. I’ve been their client for 3 months. Here is my story.
In their ad they would tell you that everything is unlimited for only $45 dollars, , , blah, blah blah, , , , but they won’t tell you that everything is actually very much limited once you join them, , , my service was disconnected permanently without a notice, , , when I started my investigation with customer service (by the way, , , hideous) they just simply apologized and told me to read that small print in my contract again.
Here are few major things you CAN NOT DO: (per contract). No YouTube. No uploading, streaming or downloading (only very very limited), , , can’t watch TV. Neither can’t text a lot nor freely talk. Basically cannot use your phone to its full potential. They are monitoring how long you are talking and how much you are texting, , , if it’s too much they would simply permanently disconnect your service without a notice nor refund, , ,
ONE thing I was permitted to do: I was able to check my emails UNLIMITED!!! Hurray! My personal wish to you reader, , , DO NOT JOIN THEM.
Regards,
Not happy and aggravated Straight Talk ex-customer. 
June 16, 2011 8:23 PM

Billy Bad said... 
Straight Talk has the Worst Customer Service. I ordered 2 R355c phones on 6-11-11. Their "Overnight" delivery, took 5 Days (6-15-11). They even sent me R335c phones, the Wrong phones. I immediately called, it took over an hour on the phone, thru numerous people to just to get a return "Ticket #" to return the phones to get credit back (said it'd take up to 30 days). I called again today (6-17-11), to get a return Postage label, just for them to re-do the order return totally, (name, email (3 times), order#, phones IMEM #'s) to make a new "Ticket #". (It's like "Duh", shouldn't you have this on file already?). They didn't even give me the new ticket# until I called Corp. office, and they too, want me to Pay the Return Postage, even though it was their overseas limited English Speaking rep.s mistake. This isn't right. They didn't even offer to make it right, exchange or nothing, much less pay the $20 return postage. It's "You pay the postage, send them back, or we keep your money". It's like a circus, going around and around and no-one knows where you'll end up. The money I could possibly may have saved with Straight Talk, will go toward a Reputed Phone Company, because it isn't worth all the HASSLE, Incompetence, Money Driven, Hours Long Waiting, Worst Customer Service Company.
So, take it from a very upset, Once Almost Straight Talk Customer. Don't Do it. Go with a company with Good Customer Service, and one that will accept their mistakes at their cost, not yours.
I've filed a Dispute w/my credit card co., and will also file with BBB (Better Business Bureau) this Monday (6-20-11). 
June 17, 2011 5:37 PM

Kim Hice said...
I thought I would try a straight talk smart phone...BIG mistake. I couldn't access the web from the phone. I bought the $45 plan to activate the phone, and they charged me another $45 to port my number over from verizon. When I accessed my account, the phone wasn't even listed!! I tried to download some ringtones, nada. Called customer service 5 times, and talked to tech support once, nothing! I could barely understand what the people were saying. So I said "screw it!" and went back to verizon. They ported my number back in 1 hour. Oh yeah, 2 days later I get a text from Straight Talk saying "welcome to straight talk." Aint that wild! I will never use them again. The smart phone I got from them (samsung r something)key's were hard to see also and push. 
June 18, 2011 2:13 PM

ginger said...
I have read so much about the unlimited $45 plan and am wondering if it is really true or whether there are some hidden costs? I payed extra amounts on my contract for roaming and just want to make sure that I am not going to pay extra bits here and there
April 24, 2011 3:12 AM

ginger said...
Is the $45 unlimited plan really unlimited? On my contract I was suddenly billed for roaming and long distant and just want to know whether there is any extra billing from straighttalk?
April 24, 2011 3:18 AM

Anonymous said...
I started using straight tgingeralk just a few months after it was announced. The service was great (verizon)and the $30 plan covered everything I did. However, there have been glitches when paying. One time the activation went bad, and I ended up with a new number; support was little help. Waited for supervisor for an hour. Recently, the web site stopped accepting my CC; but the charge went to the bank and was approved . Called support (little help at any level) and they proceeded to run up four charges and still no service. Out of frustration, I insisted for a free month while they straightened out their problem. Next month, same thing. On the phone with them for three hours, and still no help. Almost impossible to get to another level of support. They opened up another incident report (why they didn't fix it the first time I don't know). Two days later, I called them and they said they fixed it. (Thanks for no E-mail from them!!) Meanwhile I was without service, and very likely would end up with a new phone number. So I left straight talk and went to Verizon; if I have to change the number on my business cards anyway why stay with a company that can't get their act together when you need help.
April 20, 2011 9:30 AM

Anonymous said...
Reliable phones with all one really needs in a phone. AFFORDABLE RATES: $45 for unlimited talk, text, picture messaging and web. BUT WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE ON EARTH.
April 21, 2011 12:06 PM

wyeoak444 said...
Straight Talk has some great value. The unlimited service only costs 45 bucks a month and invcludes data, which is only a third of some really pricey plans. It doesn't perform as well as the 3G or 4G big boys but the cost justifies the slower load times I think.
March 31, 2011 5:01 PM 

Morgan Brown said...
Since Straight Talk is a prepaid service I wasn't expecting great download speeds, as I would from a 3 or 4g network, but I have never had a download freeze or drop all together for no apparent reason, which happened all the time with my old carrier. I pay just $45 for unlimited talk and text, and get to take advantage of their great texting phones. Compared to other phones they may not be top of the line phones, but many have great key boards for texting.
March 31, 2011 5:39 PM 

Mike said...
Best part about straight talk is that they dont pull my credit. 2nd best part is I save a ton of money, AND the latter helps the former!
March 31, 2011 9:54 PM

Anonymous said...
I decided that Straight Talk was great for me. Unbelivable the horrible comments about ST on this site. I have saved, and because you had a contract company, and expending a lot, the best way to save is ST with an economical plan. I know my savings are growing. For bad comments about ST, ears closed.
March 30, 2011 4:24 PM 

Anonymous said...
Straight Talk equals savings and besides that for me it has a great service, it has also giving me peace at the end of each month and no contract. I was looking and found ST.
March 30, 2011 6:14 PM 

Carmita said...
I had for 12 years contract after contrac. One day shopping at Wal-mart I checked out in the electronics department the pre-paid cellphones and came across Straight Talk cellphone. I have the $45 unlimited access to everything I have no complaints. No contact, no bills. Just a monthly fee. I switched and saved.
March 30, 2011 6:18 PM

Franki said...
I have saved so much money by being on prepaid. Contract phones are just the worst, I always felt I was paying so much more than my usage. I only pay $30 a month for 1000minutes and 1000 messages now, with Straight Talk. I really recommend them, they have brilliant deals
March 30, 2011 10:23 PM

Anonymous said...
I had a great experience with getting a Straight Talk phone with the unlimited plan. I got the Samsung 355C and it works great. I had a little trouble getting my number transferred from my old cell phone company over to Straight Talk, but I spoke with Holly and she fixed it right away. I tried speaking with a few customer service reps, but they didn't help much, but when I got Holly, she was great. I think it really matters who you speak to at customer service and sales. I also have 2 tracfones and have had them for many years. The only time I had trouble with customer service is when I got the wrong person. When I got the right person, it went well. The service is great, the coverage is great, and the price is great. I would advise talking to someone like Holly. Call her direct extension at 1-888-887-9117 ext.8626 or her email at Hbaldwin@tracfoneb2b.com. Giving her a referral is the least I can do for her since she fixed the problem so quickly that nobody else would.
--- Alan
March 28, 2011 7:42 PM

Anonymous said...
TERRIBLE!! I purchased a Straight Talk phone and a $45.00 service card. After just a couple days I was unhappy with the phone and service and switched my number and service to a new provider. Since there was already time (that I purchased) on the phone, and there was nothing wrong with the phone I decided not to let it go to waste and get the Straight Talk phone turned back on with a new number. I was then informed I needed to purchase ANOTHER service card to reactivate! The original one I bought was good until April 6! Should still be good! They tell me that because I ported my number to another phone, I basically just GAVE them $45.00! THEIVES
March 17, 2011 8:11 AM

MIZBIZ said...
THIS IS THE WORST DECISION I HAVE EVER MADE. THE CUSTOMER SERVICE AGENT ACTIVATED THE PHONE WITH A NEW NUMBER INSTEAD OF USING WHATEVER METHOD EXISTS TO PORT IN MY NUMBER. I WASN'T NEAR A COMPUTER AND THE VRU DID NOT RECOGNIZE THE KEYS I PRESSED, SO I WAITED FOR AN AGENT TO COME ON THE LINE TO ASSIST ME. AS A RESULT, I WAS THEN TOLD THAT THEY WOULD HAVE TO DEACTIVATE THE PHONE AND THEN I WOULD HAVE TO WAIT THREE TO FIVE DAYS FOR THEM TO SEND ME A NEW SIM CARD BY MAIL. IN THE MEANTIME, THE PHONE FROM MY FORMER WIRELESS CARRIER IS BROKEN SO BASICALLY, I AM UP A CREEK! I WORK IN SALES AND RELY HEAVILY UPON MY PHONE. I THOUGHT PREPAID WOULD BE A COST-EFFECTIVE DECISION. HUGE MISTAKE. I WOULD DEFINITELY NEVER RECOMMEND THEM TO ANYONE.
March 17, 2011 7:45 PM

frosty said...
For the past two months I have really been snowed under with my work and there have been days when I have had to phone the same client at least 6 or 7 times a day. I still can't believe that with all the phoning I do it only costs me $45 a month for unlimited talk, text and data. This has really made selling quite simple for me. Straighttalk has really taken the complication of owning a cellphone away from me
March 11, 2011 4:56 AM

Anonymous said... "
I used Boost mobile for 2 years until I just recently found out that Sprint will be shutting down it's Iden network. I purchased Straight Talk the first of this year and I will never go back. Excellent coverage and clear audio. Thank you Straight Talk for showing that cell phone service doesn't have to cost an arm and a leg."
March 10, 2011 7:16 PM

Tristan said...
"So far so good with Straight Talk. Having read all of the feedback, some good and some bad, I decided to take the leap. The biggest reason was the price, where else can I get unlimited everything on a smartphone for $45 a month? The Nokia was a big hit up front but the combination is amazing. I haven't had any problems, which makes me one of the lucky ones, and am recommending my friends try them out if they're thinking of going to prepaid."
March 1, 2011 2:25 AM 

Anonymous said...
"There are just too many reasons to be on pre paid these days: 1. no unexpected bills at teh end of each month 2. easy and accurate budgetting each month, especially with unlimited deals like the $45 deal with straight talk 3. just as god reception wiht verison and AT&T networks 4. great smart phones now available as well"
February 27, 2011 12:29

lilrascal said...
"i totally agree. we are all no longer bound by those evel shackles of the 'contract deal' anymore as there are such great pre paidoptions out there and we dont have to be forced to pay out of our noses anymore. that straight talk unlimited deal definitely seems to be the best deal out there at the moment.."
February 27, 2011 1:01 PM

Texan 1st said...
"So far so wonderful!!! I was a faithful T-Mobile customer since they were VoiceStream. Call me old fashioned, but I believe better technology should make things cheaper not more expensive. So even with their special customer loyalty rates I was paying over $60 a month ($49.99 plus taxes and fees) for unlimited minutes, no text messages, no web. StraightTalk seemed like my best alternative for getting more and paying less. So far I'm more than happy. The phone was purchased in Walmart. Good thing because the salesperson explained which phones operated on which network. I chose a phone that operates on the AT&T and T-Mobile Networks. Activated online easily, but I put in the wrong info for my old account and password. My call to support was answered quickly. The rep spoke English clearly. She easily understood my problem, accessed my account and corrected the information. My new phone started working with my old number in less than 24 hours. Now I can do everything for less than T-Mobile charged me to talk and on the same network! Yeah, I paid $199 for a phone, but even if I have to buy a new $200 phone every year I'm still paying less than I would on T-Mobile (including the cost of the phone I'm paying about $62 a month). T-Mobile would have given me a phone but the least they would have charged me (the preferred customer) for only 2mb of data and unlimited calls/text was about $75 a month and for unlimited web it would have been over $100. Come on. Now I'm have it all (okay except a touch screen phone, but I'm sure they are coming). If sometime in the next year I experience a customer service nightmare, I'l just take the $40 I saved that month and buy myself a few drinks and forget about it."
February 22, 2011 7:59 AM

tomspeckle said...
"Straight Talk unlimited is really such an amazing deal. you can save up to $50 a month and not have to worry about that suprise bill that we call dread so much arriving in the post at the end of each month!"

tracy said...
"In my line of work I need to use the phone all the time expecially on the road. With the straighttalk unlimited for $45 I feel as though I am getting a bargain and not being ripped off by some contract. On a contract I know that I would be paying in excess of $100 a month. Eventhough they are so cheap straighttalk offers incrdible service and it is nationwide too with no extra charges"
February 19, 2011 8:09 AM

Anonymous said...
"My husband and I both have ST phones for $30 monthly fee. Mine has worked great for my needs--I have a Samsung slider phone. But my husband's has been a big headache ever since we activated it--he can only pick up calls 50% of the time. He has a Samsung flip phone--he likes it because it is small and fits in his pocket--he doesn't go online or text, but he uses a lot of talk minutes--so this plan still is cheaper than using Tracfone. They tried to reprogram it and finally got them to change the phone which was a big hassle because we bought it online. Their customer service is really courteous and they do speak English and they do not have strong accent like the South Americans; however, it is difficult to resolve anything with them as they have to keep consulting with their supervisor. Even when we got transferred to Tier 2 tech support and spoke with the manager who is above the supervisors, we still couldn't get a resolution. The best way to get something done is to send an e-mail to their customer support, that is the only way we got some resolution and getting the phone replaced. This plan is great is if works like on my phone, but if you have a defective phone or your phone doesn't work in your area, it really, really stinks. Buy the phone from Walmart--less hassle in returning the phone and email instead of calling for complicated issues."
February 15, 2011 3:36 AM

Anonymous said...
A friend and I had had it with paying $$$$ to Verizon and he mentioned Straight Talk. We both both it and now it's become a weekly joke (sometimes daily) between us regarding the faulty phones, trying to return them and the scripted and extremely unhelpful customer service. For anyone reading this remember, you get what you pay for-- and the $$ you are saving are coming out of phone quality and customer service. The facts of my experience: 1) I'm on my 4th phone since I started service with them only 2 months ago. When your phone goes defective they take a week to send you a FedEx package with a package inside to send the phone back and then wait for another phone (and yeah, you gotta go to WalMart and buy another phone during that time to use, and then return THAT phone if/when you get the resplacement). 2) SIM cards are not transferable, there is no back-up app, write down all your numbers because when the phone goes bad, you lose every single one of them like I did. 3) The customer service, after you have had to deal with it 2-3x, will make you wince before you call because you know you are looking at a good 30-60 minutes of talking with people who (I'm sorry to say this) speak very bad English and you spend half your time asking them to repeat themselves and they asking you to repeat yourself. It is all so scripted my friend and I have it down to a comedy routine when we talk to eachother now. They will ask you at least ten times to "please give me 2-3 minutes to resolve this" and put you on hold for any lenght of time. I just finished a run of 5 calls today, and each was over 45 mins and not one time was the issue resolved and currently I am being told to wait 24-48 hours as many in postings above have mentioned. 4) I have not had a working phone in over 3 days now because of them, and due to their lack of ability when they transfered my phone number to the new SIM and phone, all my voicemails and text messages were wiped out before I heard or saw them. And after all of this, the current (and 4th phone) still is not working and yup, I'm still waiting. 5) This was not worth the $$ savings -- I wouldn't go back to Verizon, but I'd jump to go Sprint or another with the $69.99 unlimited plan -- which is what I'm doing once I get my phone working somehow so I can call all of the people I have lost messages from in the last several days. DON'T GO WITH STRAIGHT TALK!!! PS- As nice or not-nice as the random WalMart employee you get may be, know that they can't help you past exchanging your phone- and SAVE YOUR RECEIPT!"
February 14, 2011 8:31 PM

SpaceBat said...
"Personally, I've had a great experience using Straight Talk. The amount of money I've saved is so incredible that I sort of feel that if poor tech support is the price I have to pay to save so much money then so be it. (I haven't really had to deal with tech support since I haven't had any problems with my phone, maybe if I did I'd change my mind about this but for now that's just how I feel)"
February 12, 2011 6:39 PM

Anonymous said...
"DON'T BUY STRAIGHT TALK PHONES Mid Dec. wife and I purchased phones based on her reading the reviews. That was when we should have known the phones were great when they work! But getting them to work is the problem, when you call for tech support you can barely understand the people talking to you and yes you do wait 3 mins. and 3 mins. for hours and hours. Walmart says we are a 3rd party to this product and deal with the phone company. We were told send phones back and will replace in 2 weeks or more. Then buy another card and ringtone and all will be good. This was the message form tech support. We would not recommend this phone due to the very bad support you get from the company. Wish we had stayed with the old company that had AMERICANS getting paid to help and actually knowing how to fix a problem. DON"T BUY THIS PHONE AND WALLY WORLD KNOW WHY."
February 8, 2011 7:19 AM

Carmita said...
"Para las personas que quieren ahorrar, cambiense para Straight Talk celular. Yo me cambie y en 4 meses he ahorrado bastante. Tengo el plan de $30 al mes con 1000 min. de hablar/textear/llamadas al 411 gratis/y 30mb de data. En Wal-mart lo encontre y me cambie. No he tenido ningun prolema."
February 8, 2011 9:50 AM

Carmita said...
"oooppsss I posted a comment in spanish. I realized it after I clicked post comment. Nevertheless, Straight Talk Cellphone is amazing in saving big and having excellent services in my area of Florida. I have the $30 a month with 1000 min. text/talk/free 411 calls and 30mb of data. Switch and save you won't regret it."
February 8, 2011 11:14 AM
BethWark said...
"WOW..have been trying to purchase a 45$ card for my son's phone since Feb 2nd. Worse customer service ever! The biggest problem is that no one seems to know how to speak English! Hold for 3 minutes, hold for 3 minutes, heard that for 34 minutes, with no resolution. This has been going on since Feb 2nd!, Same error message, same ticket number, and I'm supposed to call back in 24-48 hours. It's great if it works, and hey, please, oh PLEASE, speak English!!"
"Teresa said...
I love my Straight Talk smart phone Nokia E71 and unlimited talk,text,mobile web,e-mail & free calls to 411 plan for $45/mnth.
With ST I'm free of overages, cancellation fee's, activation fees of $35 & hidden costs.
At least now I have control over my cell phone expenses and can stick to a budget."
January 27, 2011 8:32 AM

"Harry said...
I have the straight talk verizon phone and it has been great for me. Depending on your location, (this is why they ask you for you zip code when you buy) you get better reception vs another. GSM or CDMA are different and know which one around your area works better. I have the unlimited everything plan for 45 bucks and I can talk as much as I want for a low cost."
January 26, 2011 12:00 PM


"Anonymous said...
I tried to buy a straight talk phone online. What a joke that was it gave an error reading then charged my credit card for nine phones that I never ordered let alone get the one I tried to buy. Called to get it straightened out and the worst service I have had online ever I was told this would be fixed in couple days but five days later nothings changed. I will never try to buy phone from them again. Poor every thing glad I didn't even get phone. Big mistake!"
January 26, 2011 12:10 PM


"anonymous said...
Straight talk made lots of promises after I encountered a problem. I was told what I wanted to hear then They did NOT keep their promises. When you try to call back you can't talk to the same person and nothing is in the notes that was promised. Let The Buyer Beware"
January 22, 2011 9:13 PM

"Linda said...
I started out with Straight Talk using the Verizon Network. Have moved recently, and although I could still use my phone on Verizon's network, am now in an area that has strong AT&T coverage. This also meant I could get one of the new smart phones. I really love that I can stick with Straight Talk's affordable unlimited plan, which has really helped my savings during rather a tough time in my life. And still get to utilize one of the top networks. Nice that either one is so readily available, depending on your location!"
January 22, 2011 2:11 AM


April said...
@mike thats exactly what happened to me, for someone who needs a higher volume of minutes, texts or data Straight Talk is definitely the one. I started out with the $30 plan and then moved onto the Unlimited one with a new qwerty phone, its been amazing how little I've paid and how much I use it now."
January 17, 2011 11:38 PM

mike said...
I used to have tracfone which worked really well for me until my minute volume started getting much higher. Then I switched to Straight Talk and got on the $30 per month plan and I love it. I get 1000 minutes, 1000 text messages and 30megs of data each month. If I ever run out, I just renew a little bit early."
November 17, 2010 6:54 AM